Malaysia’s 12th General Election Results

Final results for the 12th Malaysian General Election:

Parliamentary seats: Barisan (140), Pakatan (82: DAP-28, PAS-23, PKR-31)

States won by Pakatan: Kedah, Kelantan, Penang, Perak and Selangor

Like many Malaysians, I stayed up late for updates on the 12th general election. And the results were surprising, if not shocking. It’s a political scene that most Malaysians have not encountered before, particularly the younger generations.

Barisan denied

I thought Pakatan had a slim chance to deny Barisan’s two-third majority in parliament, and didn’t expect that to happen for real. Although Barisan retained simple majority, they lost the two-third super majority for the first time since 1969.

And losing hold of the five states, especially in Perak and Selangor? That’s probably more shocking than losing the super majority in national assembly.

Not taking away what Barisan (and its predecessor) have done for the country in the past but they are disappointing in recent years with poor economic growth and corruption etc. The later is a pain even among the party supporters.

Malaysians have made themselves heard, which is the essence of what a general election is about. Get ready for a NEW Malaysia, for better or worse.

Related Posts

Respect the general election result please
UPM vs student over confiscated notebook
N.Koreans celebrate Kim Jong-il’s re-election
Shinawatra wins Thai election
Burma releases Aung San Suu Kyi