Korean World Cup announcer turns internet sensation

A gif image of Korean announcer Jang Ye-won, who’s currently in Brazil to report on the World Cup, is trending on Reddit, 9gag and other social networking sites.

Korean World Cup announcer Jang Yewon

[Read more…]

Japan wins Women’s World Cup 2011

Japan completed their fairy tale run in the FIFA Women’s World Cup with the ultimate prize as world champion by beating the US in the final in Frankfurt, Germany.

The game ended 2-2 after extra time and Japan won it by penalty shootout and became the first Asian team to win the FIFA Women’s World Cup. Quite a shocker as the Japanese were never the best in Asia, let alone on global stage prior to this.

Many would probably agree that the Americans let it slipped in the final; they dominated the match but in the end it’s the scoreline that mattered. Congrats to Japan.

Russia & Qatar to host 2018 & 2022 FIFA World Cup

FIFA has chosen Russia to host the 2018 FIFA World Cup, while the 2022 tournament was awarded to Qatar. Official press release from FIFA…

FIFA President Joseph S. Blatter announced the result of the FIFA Executive Committee’s vote on Thursday 2 December 2010 in Zurich’s Messe.

The contenders for the 2018 FIFA World Cup, other than Russia, were England, a joint bid from Belgium and the Netherlands, and a joint bid from Spain and Portugal. Meanwhile, for the 2022 FIFA World Cup, Australia, Japan, Korea Republic and the USA were competing with Qatar.

22 members of the FIFA Executive Committee were entitled to vote. 12 votes were needed for an absolute majority and therefore to obtain the right to host the FIFA World Cup. Here are the full results of the voting rounds:

2018 FIFA World Cup

Round 1: England 2 votes, Netherlands/Belgium 4 votes, Spain/Portugal 7 votes and Russia 9 votes (as no absolute majority was reached, the candidate with least amount of votes, England, was eliminated).
Round 2: Netherlands/Belgium 2, Spain/Portugal 7, and Russia 13.

2022 FIFA World Cup

Round 1: Australia 1 vote, Japan 3 votes, Korea Republic 4 votes, Qatar 11 votes, USA 3 votes (Australia eliminated).
Round 2: Japan 2, Korea Republic 5, Qatar 10, and USA 5 (Japan eliminated).
Round 3: Korea Republic 5, Qatar 11, and USA 6 (Korea Republic eliminated).
Round 4: Qatar 14 votes and USA 8 votes.

Nike World Cup advertisement curse

One of the most popular advertisements during FIFA World Cup is Write The Future by Nike, which featured some of the world’s top football players…

[Read more…]

Asian teams out of World Cup

All four Asian representatives have bowed out of the 2010 FIFA World Cup.

Japan and South Korea have made themselves proud by advancing to the last 16 round, but that’s as far as they could go as both teams were eliminated at that stage… with Japan unfortunately lost to Paraguay on penalties.

There are encouraging signs for Asian teams at this World Cup, but it’s still obvious that we are far behind the traditional footballing continents, i.e. Europe and South America. We might catch up someday in terms of techniques and tactics, but the physical disadvantage is something that’s difficult to overhaul.

It’s ironic though, that football is still arguably the most popular sport in the Asia region despite our lack of global success.